2022.04.18

My wife and I drove two hours just to get Arby's today.

I mean, Arby's is probably the most underrated fast food chain out there. Especially with this new brisket sandwhich they have. That shit is delicious. But, regardless, a two hour round trip for fast food is excessive under normal circumstances. But, there are several factors at play.

First, you have to understand that I've been homebound since mid-March. On the 21st I broke my leg and suffered a minor spinal cord injury playing kickball at work. I'll tell that story another day. But, even though my neuro has released me back to full duty, my ortho still has me on a non-weight-bearing status for at least another week and a half. We live in a duplex, and there's about 10 steps from the front door down to the driveway. And no matter what I try, there is no safe, elegant way for me to traverse those steps independently. Since I got home from the hospital on the 25th, I've been out of the house four times. The first two were for doctors appointments the week after surgery. Then last week, my wife, mother-in-law and I went back to my worksite to get my car. And then today, to go get Arby's.

It's also germane to the story that today is Patriot's Day, which is a holiday in like 6 states, including Massachusetts. So, my wife had the day off (she's a librarian for a public library). Today was chores day, and she got all the chores done by about 1 o'clock. So she came in, and said "Wanna go get Arby's?"

Fuck yeah, I want Arby's.

Arby's is one of those places I took for granted when I lived in PA. But since I moved up here in '17, I haven't had a chance to go. And wifey knows this. So, as a treat, we went. It also helps that it was a beautiful day.

It was a great afternoon. We listened to a couple episodes of the Tig & Cheryl True Story podcast, which is hilarious. The windows were down, and our dog Ollie was hanging out in his car seat being very cute. He is a very good boy in the car. In the house, when he's not getting attention, not so much. But our boi does love a nice car ride.

Anyway, I can't talk about going to Arby's on Facebook, because we were invited to lunch with wifey's family, and we just didn't want to go and deal with all their steps and dogs, and family drama. So we took a powder and got some roast beefs. In a couple weeks, when I'm a biped again, maybe we'll go get dinner with the family. But today...just not the smart play.

-LxN.